Treadaway & Treadaway
St. Patrick’s Day Luck Turned Unlucky
St. Patrick’s Day is a day of celebration, sometimes with green beer and liquor. Bars often have celebrations for St. Patrick’s Day, so it’s tempting to go out and party. However, your St. Paddy’s day luck could turn bad if you are stopped for DUI in Georgia, especially if you have multiple convictions in the past ten years. Even if you have never been convicted of DUI, it’s smart to arrange for a designated driver so you won’t have to worry about getting stopped, or about hurting someone else on the roadways.
BAC and Testing
If your blood alcohol concentration level is 0.08 or higher, you are considered driving under the influence of alcohol in the State of Georgia. If you refuse to submit to a blood or breath test, the law could count the refusal against you at trial.
First and second DUI convictions are misdemeanors. However, a third conviction is a high and aggravated misdemeanor and a fourth conviction is a felony.
The fourth conviction could result in a fine of at least $1,000 and at a maximum, $5,000. Additionally, you may be imprisoned for at least a year and up to five years, may be required to do at least 60 days of community service, may have to take a DUI alcohol or drug use risk reduction program, may have to undergo a clinical evaluation and could remain under an order of probation for up to five years. You will have a felony on your record, and that could hinder your ability to get or keep a job.
Contact a Georgia DUI Lawyer
If you have been stopped for DUI, even if it’s your first offense, contact our Georgia DUI lawyers as soon as possible.